The Ruby Awards honour the best of South Australia’s arts and culture sector.

Named after late arts patron, Dame Ruby Litchfield, the annual awards recognise artistic excellence, creative achievement, innovation, community involvement and inspirational leadership.

2021 proved the sector’s adaptability and resilience in the face of COVID-19. The diversity of practice that has been created since June 2020, is a testament to its strength. The 2021 Ruby Awards are a chance to recognise the artistic outcomes that have been created, and the leaders who have championed the arts, in a year like no other.

Strategic collaboration is a key value in the Arts Plan. We have witnessed an increase in collaboration as a way of working to achieve unexpected outcomes and to maximise investment. To reflect this area of focus we are introducing a new award category for Best Collaboration. This will replace the Made in Adelaide award in 2021.

Nominations are now open

Celebrate the achievements of South Australia’s arts and culture sector by nominating an artist, organisation, performance or event worthy of recognition in the relevant award category by 5 pm on Friday 8 October 2021.

The award categories are:

To find out more about each category, read the 2021 Ruby Awards Guidelines (PDF, 1.6 MB).

Previous Ruby Award recipients

Ruby Awards 2020

Ruby Awards 2019

Ruby Awards 2018

Ruby Awards 2017

Ruby Awards 2016