The department supports the Australian Honours system which celebrates individual’s contributions of excellence, achievement or meritorious service.

Order of Australia

In the Australian honours system, the Order of Australia is the highest recognition of a person’s outstanding achievement and contribution to the community.

The Order of Australia awards are announced twice each year - on Australia Day and on The Queen's Birthday Public Holiday.

For more information about the Order of Australia awards visit the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia website.

Australian Bravery Awards

Australian Bravery Decorations recognise acts of bravery by members of the community who selflessly put themselves in jeopardy to protect the lives or property of others.

For more information about the Australian Bravery Awards visit the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia website.

Public Service Medal

The Public Service Medal recognises outstanding service by employees of the Australian, state, territory and local governments.

Outstanding service can be shown through:

  • service excellence to the public, or to external or internal clients;
  • innovation in programme, project or policy development;
  • leadership, including as a member of a team; and
  • the achievement of more efficient processes, improved productivity or better service delivery.

For more information on how to nominate someone for a Public Service Medal, visit the Australia Day Council of South Australia website.