Nominations for the 2020 Governor’s Multicultural Awards are now open!

These important awards recognise and celebrate outstanding South Australians who promote multiculturalism and increase the understanding of the benefits of cultural diversity in our community.

South Australians are encouraged to nominate an individual, team or organisation that is passionate about making a positive contribution to multiculturalism and intercultural understanding, and promoting our culturally-diverse state.

The awards are administered by the Department of the Premier and Cabinet through Multicultural Affairs. They are presented by His Excellency, the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia, on the advice of an independent judging panel.

The award categories are:

  • Outstanding individual achievement
  • Arts and culture
  • Community sector
  • Media
  • Private sector
  • Public sector
  • Senior volunteer
  • Volunteer
  • Youth.

Nominations are open until 5pm Friday 9 October 2020, with winners announced in early 2021.

To nominate, please complete the online nomination form.

Nominate now

Alternatively, to request a hard copy nomination form please email

2020 Governor’s Multicultural Awards online nomination form

2020 Governor’s Multicultural Awards Nomination Guidelines (PDF, 88.2 KB)

2020 Governor’s Multicultural Awards Nomination Frequently Asked Questions (PDF, 47.6 KB)

Help promote the awards

Help us promote multiculturalism in South Australia by sharing the award nominations with your friends, family and community.

You can follow @MulticulturalSA on Facebook and share posts about the 2020 Governor’s Multicultural Award nominations.

The Digital Media Kit provides web and social media graphics, a self-print poster and flyer, and messages to help you promote the awards with your networks.

2020 Governor’s Multicultural Awards Nominations Digital Media Kit (ZIP, 1.1 MB)

Previous Governor's Multicultural Awards

Established in 2007, the Governor’s Multicultural Awards have recognised and celebrated many South Australian individuals, teams, organisations and communities since.

Winners of the 2019 Governor’s Multicultural Awards were announced by His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia, in May 2020.

Eleven (11) award recipients were chosen from 24 finalists across the nine award categories.

You can learn more about the achievements of the 2019 award recipients and finalists:

2019 Governor’s Multicultural Awards winner’s announcement message (YouTube)

Governor's Multicultural Awards 2019 winners summary (PDF, 65.1 KB)

Governor's Multicultural Awards 2019 finalists (PDF, 51.0 KB)

You can also read more about the achievements of the previous award recipients:

Governor's Multicultural Awards 2018 winners summary (PDF, 57.8 KB)

Governor's Multicultural Awards 2018 finalists (PDF, 51.7 KB)

Governor's Multicultural Awards 2017 winners summary (PDF, 54.2 KB)

Governor's Multicultural Awards 2017 media release