The Department of the Premier and Cabinet is responsible for the development of multicultural policies and programs and the promotion of cultural diversity in South Australia.


Our vision is to achieve an open, inclusive, cohesive and equitable multicultural society, where cultural, linguistic and religious diversity is understood, valued and supported.

We advise the South Australian Government about the development of policies and programs that promote cultural diversity and all matters relating to multicultural affairs.

With a focus on supporting the community and encouraging communities to showcase their cultural diversity, Multicultural Affairs is also responsible for the administration and delivery of multicultural grant programs, events, awards, community forums, support programs and resources.

Ministerial responsibility

In recognition of the strong commitment to serve our diverse communities in South Australia, the Hon Zoe Bettison MP is responsible for the Multicultural Affairs portfolio.

South Australian Multicultural Commission

Multicultural Affairs provides executive support to the South Australian Multicultural Commission which reports to the Hon Zoe Bettison MP and is established under the South Australian Multicultural Act 2021.