The Cabinet committees are a forum for ministers to discuss significant cross portfolio issues, work through complex problems, and test options ahead of a proposal going to Cabinet. They are an adjunct to Cabinet and an important part of the Cabinet process, playing a key advisory role.

There are six Cabinet committees. Four of these are portfolio based - Economic Growth Cabinet Committee, Justice and Legislative Reform Cabinet Committee, Infrastructure Cabinet Committee and Social Affairs Cabinet Committee. The remaining two committees - Budget Cabinet Committee and Emergency Management Council - have more specialised remits that may cut across multiple portfolio areas.

Upcoming meeting dates can be viewed in the Cabinet, Cabinet Committee and Executive Council meetings document.