Annual Report 2020–21: Table of contents | 1 | 234567

Our strategic focus 2020–2021

Our Purpose

As the lead, central agency for the South Australian public sector, the Department of the Premier and Cabinet (DPC) has a unique role in leading and influencing delivery of the Premier’s and Cabinet’s priorities. We ensure there is an integrated approach to policy, projects, services and program delivery across government and drive South Australia’s interests on the National Agenda.

In 2020–21 we adopted the purpose statement ‘Making a difference so South Australia Thrives’.

Our Vision

Our vision for 2020–21 was:

The Premier and the Cabinet can fulfil their objectives for South Australia and deliver positive and effective outcomes for the South Australian community.

Our Values

We embraced the values of the South Australian public sector:

  • Service
  • Collaboration & Engagement
  • Professionalism
  • Honesty & Integrity
  • Trust
  • Courage & Tenacity
  • Respect
  • Sustainability.

Our functions, objectives and deliverables

Our 4 strategic pillars guiding our functions, objectives and deliverables for the 2020–21 year were:

  1. Premier’s and Cabinet’s priorities: Drive major initiatives, policies and projects that deliver outcomes in line with government priorities.
  2. Whole of government leadership: Lead a high-performing South Australian public sector.
  3. Our community: Deliver programs and services to the South Australian community.
  4. Our people: Be a high-performing and effective central agency.

Further information about our functions and responsibilities is available on our website.

Our organisational structure

As at 30 June 2021, DPC was comprised of the following divisions:

  • Cabinet Office
  • Communities and Corporate
  • Disaster Rebuilding and Corporate
  • ICT and Digital Government
  • Intergovernmental and Diplomatic Relations
  • Lot Fourteen
  • Office of the Chief Executive
  • Office for Data Analytics
  • Performance and Reform.

Further information about our organisational structure is available on our website.

Changes to the agency

During 2020–21 the following changes were made to the agency’s structure as a result of internal reviews or machinery of government changes.

Offices transferred out of DPC

Transferred as at 1 July 2020To
Office for Recreation, Sport and Racing Department for Infrastructure and Transport

Offices transferred in to DPC

Transferred as at 1 July 2020From
Chief Executive Performance Management and Recruitment Department of Treasury and Finance
Public Sector Innovation Department of Treasury and Finance
State Recovery Office Department of Human Services

Our Minister

The Hon Steven Marshall MP is South Australia’s 46th Premier.

The Premier is responsible for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation, Arts, Multicultural Affairs, Defence and Space, Veterans’ Affairs and Tourism.

Email contact details Mail contact details GPO Box 2343
Adelaide SA 5001

Our Executive Leadership Team

As at 30 June 2021, the department’s Executive Leadership Team comprised:

  • Mr Nick Reade, Chief Executive
  • Ms Diane Dixon, State Project Lead, Lot Fourteen
  • Dr Eva Balan-Vnuk, Executive Director, ICT and Digital Government
  • Ms Jessica Winch, Director, Office of the Chief Executive
  • Dr Jon Gorvett, Executive Director, Intergovernmental and Diplomatic Relations
  • Mr Mark Duffy, Chief Executive, Performance and Reform
  • Mr Peter Worthington-Eyre, Executive Director, Office for Data Analytics
  • Ms Ruth Ambler, Executive Director, Cabinet Office and Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation
  • Mr Steven Woolhouse, Executive Director, Communities and Corporate.

Legislation administered by the agency

  • Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988
  • Aboriginal Lands Parliamentary Standing Committee Act 2003
  • Aboriginal Lands Trust 2013
  • Adelaide Festival Centre Trust Act 1971
  • Adelaide Festival Corporation Act 1998
  • Adelaide Festival Theatre Act 1964
  • Agent-General Act 1901
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981
  • Art Gallery Act 1939
  • Carrick Hill Trust Act 1985
  • Competition Policy Reform (South Australia) Act 1996
  • Constitution Act 1934
  • Emergency Management Act 2004
  • Government Business Enterprises (Competition) Act 1996
  • Infrastructure SA Act 2018
  • Legislation (Fees) Act 2019
  • Libraries Act 1982
  • Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984
  • Mutual Recognition (South Australia) Act 1993
  • Public Sector (Data Sharing) Act 2016
  • South Australian Country Arts Trust Act 1992
  • South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980
  • South Australian Museum Act 1976
  • State Opera of South Australia Act 1976
  • State Theatre Company of South Australia Act 1972
  • Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition (South Australia) Act 1999
  • Unauthorised Documents Act 1916

Other related agencies (within the Minister’s area/s of responsibility)

Office of the Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement

Established in 2007, the office of the Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement is a primary point of contact for the Aboriginal community to express their concerns about issues that matter to them and have those concerns and issues addressed. Dr Roger Thomas was appointed as South Australia's Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement on 18 July 2018. The role of the Commissioner is to provide Aboriginal leadership in South Australia, advocating on behalf of, and engaging with, all Aboriginal people and communities across the state.

On 3 December 2020, the Commissioner provided a report on achievements (PDF, 1.23MB) and issues impacting the Aboriginal community across South Australia to the House of Assembly. This was a historical event. The Commissioner was the first Aboriginal person to stand in the Chamber of the Parliament of South Australia to deliver a report.

Office of the South Australian Productivity Commission

The South Australian Productivity Commission (SAPC) was established on 22 October 2018 and is supported by the Office of the South Australian Productivity Commission (OSAPC), attached to DPC. In 2020–21 the OSAPC was led by a Chief Executive, Dr Matthew Butlin – and reported to the Premier. The OSAPC is an independent body that makes recommendations to the government to facilitate productivity growth, unlock new economic opportunities, support job creation and remove existing regulatory barriers. The OSAPC is producing an independent Annual Report, accessible via their website.

State Governor’s Establishment

The State Governor's Establishment supports the Governor of South Australia.

Statutory authorities attached to the department

All statutory authorities attached to the department are producing independent Annual Reports for 2020–2021, which are available on their websites.

  • Aboriginal Lands Trust
  • Adelaide Festival Centre Trust
  • Adelaide Festival Corporation
  • Art Gallery of South Australia
  • Carrick Hill
  • Country Arts SA
  • South Australian Museum
  • South Australian Tourism Commission
  • State Library of South Australia
  • State Opera South Australia
  • State Theatre Company South Australia

Annual Report 2020–21: Table of contents | 1 | 234567