Machinery of Government (MOG) refers to the allocation of functions and responsibilities between departments and ministers. These allocations reflect a government's strategy and priorities and changes may often be made following an election or to support new policy directions.

MOG changes are the prerogative of the Premier and can include:

  • appointing ministers
  • establishing or abolishing departments
  • transferring responsibility for functions, legislation or departments between ministers
  • transferring functions within the public sector.

The Governor in Executive Council, on the advice of the Premier, appoints ministers, establishes administrative units (departments) and formally allocates responsibilities to ministers.

More information is available in the Machinery of Government Handbook – Implementing Change.

Machinery of Government Handbook – Implementing Change (PDF, 391.6 KB)

Cabinet Office can help with queries about implementing MOG changes.