The best of South Australia’s arts and culture sector were once again celebrated for artistic excellence, creative achievement, innovation and collaboration at the invitation-only event at the Queen’s Theatre on Thursday 2 December 2021.

Now in its 16th year, the Ruby Awards – named after late arts patron, Dame Ruby Litchfield – is the state’s premier event to recognise the valuable contribution of artists, performances and events.

2021 proved the sector’s adaptability and resilience in the face of COVID-19. The diversity of practice that has been created since June 2020, is a testament to its strength.

The 2021 Ruby Awards were a chance to recognise the artistic outcomes that have been created, and the leaders who have championed the arts, in a year like no other.

The awards were judged by a panel including representatives from a broad cross-section of South Australian arts and culture organisations.

Winners of the 2021 Ruby Awards are:

  • Best Festival – Adelaide Film Festival
  • Best Work or Event Within a Festival – Art Gallery of South Australia: Clarice Beckett: The Present Moment
  • Best Work or Event Outside a Festival – State Theatre Company South Australia and ActNow Theatre: DECAMERON 2.0
  • Best Work, Event or Project for Young People – Patch Theatre: Zooom
  • Best Regional or Community Event or Project – Access2Arts: The HeartBeat Club
  • Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Organisation or Group – Gravity & Other Myths
  • Best Collaboration – Slingsby Theatre Company and State Theatre Company South Australia in association with Adelaide Festival and Draiocht: The Boy Who Talked to Dogs
  • Stevie Gadlabarti Goldsmith Memorial Award – Lee-Ann Tjunypa Buckskin
  • Frank Ford Memorial Young Achiever Award – Grace Coy
  • Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award – Nick Hughes
  • Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement – Pat Rix and Garry Stewart

View the photos from the event.

Learn more about the awards at arts.sa.gov.au/rubys