Nominations are open across a wide field of 2022 Ruby Award categories, honouring outstanding work in the South Australian arts and culture sector.

Named after late arts patron, Dame Ruby Litchfield, the annual awards recognise artistic excellence, creative achievement, innovation, community involvement and inspirational leadership.

In announcing the 2022 call for nominations Minister for Arts, Andrea Michaels said South Australia’s Ruby Awards celebrate the achievements of our artists and arts organisations.

“This is a chance to recognise the achievements of South Australia’s arts and culture sector by nominating an artist, organisation, performance, exhibition, publication, program or event worthy of recognition.”

Nominations are now open across six categories for artistic works and events held or presented in South Australia between 1 July 2021 and 30 June 2022. 

  • Outstanding Community Event or Project*
  • Outstanding Regional Event or Project*
  • Outstanding Work, Event or Project for Young People
  • Outstanding Work or Event Within a Festival**
  • Outstanding Work or Event Outside a Festival
  • Outstanding Collaboration

Five additional categories acknowledge the contribution of individuals and organisations to South Australia’s creative and cultural life.

  • The Outstanding Contribution by an Organisation or Group Award recognises a small-to-medium organisation or group that has made an outstanding contribution to arts and culture in South Australia.
  • The Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award recognises the contribution of an individual or organisation to community arts and cultural development.
  • The Frank Ford Memorial – Young Achiever Award is presented for creative achievements by an individual 30 years and under.
  • The Stevie Gadlabarti Goldsmith Memorial Award recognises outstanding artistic or cultural achievement or contribution by a South Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander-focused organisation or group, or an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander identified individual.
  • The Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement recognises an extraordinary South Australian who, through a lifetime of outstanding service, has made an indelible contribution to arts and culture.

Access2Arts won 2021 Best Regional or Community Event or Project. Chief Executive Rebecca Young said winning a Ruby Award was a huge acknowledgement of the value and impact of their work in disability arts, and the hard work and passion that has gone into developing the Heart Beat Club over the years

“It was wonderful to be able to share that with all the artists and team that have been involved in the program and celebrate the recognition of their work with Access2Arts.”

Nominations close 5pm on 12 September 2022, with winners announced in late November.

For more information, and to nominate online, visit arts.sa.gov.au/rubys.

*This year sees some changes in the awards categories. The Best Community or Regional Event or Project category has now become two discrete awards, Outstanding Community Event or Project and Outstanding Regional Event or Project.

**In 2022 there will be no Best Festival category with festivals encouraged to nominate content from their festivals in other award categories for consideration.