Celebrate South Australia’s arts, culture and creative sector by nominating an artist, performance or event for the 2021 Ruby Awards.

Nominations are now open and will close at 12 midnight on Sunday 10 October 2021.

To nominate, visit arts.sa.gov.au/rubys

South Australia is well known for its vibrant festivals and events, world-renowned collections and dynamic artists and the Ruby Awards provide a great opportunity to honour the best of the state’s art, culture and creative industry.

Named after the late arts patron, Dame Ruby Litchfield, the annual awards ceremony recognises artistic excellence, creative achievement, innovation, collaboration, community involvement and inspirational leadership. Categories are:

  • Best Festival
  • Best Work or Event Within a Festival
  • Best Work or Event outside a Festival
  • Best Work, Event or Project for Young People
  • Best Community or Regional Event or Project
  • Outstanding Contribution by an Organisation or Group
  • Best Collaboration
  • Stevie Gadlabarti Goldsmith Memorial Award
  • Frank Ford Memorial Young Achiever Award
  • Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award
  • Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The awards are judged by a panel including representatives from a broad cross-section of South Australian arts and culture organisations.

Through Arts South Australia and initiatives like the 16th annual Ruby Awards, the Government of South Australia is committed to supporting the arts and culture sector so it can recover, rebuild and bounce back after the COVID-19 pandemic.