Congratulations to Major ‘Moogy’ Sumner AM, who was announced as the winner of the 2021 Premier’s NAIDOC Award at an award ceremony yesterday.

Premier Steven Marshall with finalists of the Premier's NAIDOC Award

Pictured: Frank Lampard, Jeffrey Newchurch, Latisha Dodd and Major 'Moogy' Sumner with Premier Steven Marshall at the  2021 Premier's NAIDOC Award ceremony.

The Premier’s NAIDOC Award recognises the outstanding achievements and service of an extraordinary South Australian who has made a significant contribution to the lives of Aboriginal people in South Australia.

Respected Ngarrindjeri and Kaurna man Major ‘Moogy’ Sumner AM was recognised for his significant service to the Indigenous community of South Australia through his contributions to health, social welfare, youth and cultural heritage organisations.

Three other individuals – Mr Frank Lampard, Mr Jeffrey Newchurch, and Ms Georgina Williams – were also acknowledged as Award finalists for their valuable contributions that have benefited Aboriginal people and all South Australians.

Year 12 Kaurna Plains school student Latisha Dodd was also announced as the recipient of the 2021 Dr Alice Rigney Prize, in recognition of her dedication to her education, support and inspiration to others within the school environment, and her artistic talent.

For more information about the awards and recipients, see Premier’s NAIDOC Award.