COVID-19 (Coronavirus) is having a big impact globally and within Australia.

We all need to take extra care of ourselves and those around us, accepting that – for now, at least – our ways of life have changed a lot.

Some Aboriginal people including Elders, people with co-morbidities (health conditions such as diabetes, cardiovascular illness, cancer, infectious diseases, and dementia), and those living in overcrowded conditions could be more at risk of contracting Coronavirus.

You can find out more by:

  • Visiting SA.GOV.AU or calling the COVID-19 SA Health Hotline on 1800 253 787 (open 8am to 8pm); or
  • Visiting or calling the National Coronavirus Info Line on 1800 020 080 (24 hours).

After discussion between government and community leaders, some particular South Australian remote and regional communities opted in to new biosecurity measures. Those communities have now been declared Designated Areas under the Commonwealth Biosecurity Act 2015, which means that entry to them is restricted.

You can read about these measures on SA.GOV.AU.

Education materials on COVID-19 including posters tailored towards South Australian Aboriginal communities are currently under development and will be added to this page soon. Please revisit this page again to see when they are available, including for download.

Please stay safe and well.

Page last updated 29 April 2020