CABINET - SUBJECTS FOR CONSIDERATION, 14 DECEMBER 2006 9:00 AM

lot Relevant	

8 **Sub-Committee**

801 **A**GO0433/0**2CS**

Appointments to the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission APPROVED AS AMENDED



To THE HON. THE PREMIER FOR CABINET (SUB-COMMITTEE) AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

About APPOINTMENTS TO THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN MULTICULTURAL AND ETHNIC AFFAIRS COMMISSION

1. PROPOSALS

- 1.1 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council reappoint Ms Maria Barredo as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980, for a term commencing on 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.
- 1.2 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council appoint Ms Malgorzata Skalban as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to Section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980, for a term commencing on 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.
- 1.3 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council reappoint Ms Gala Mustafa as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to Section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission for a period commencing 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.
- 1.4 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council appoint Ms Branka King as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to Section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission for a term commencing 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.

2. BACKGROUND

- 2.1 The South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980 provides for the establishment of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission.
- 2.2 In accordance with Section 6(1) the Commission is to consist of not more than 15 members appointed by the Governor on the nomination of the Minister, of whom:
 - (a) one must be appointed to chair the Commission
 - (b) at least four must be men and four women.
- 2.3 In selecting nominees for appointment to the Commission the Minister should act with a view to ensuring that the membership of the Commission reflects an

appropriate diversity of ethnic and occupational backgrounds and should have regard to:

- (a) the knowledge; and
- (b) the sensitivity; and
- (c) the enthusiasm and personal commitment; and
 - (d) the experience and involvement with ethnic groups,

of those who come under consideration.

- 2.4 In accordance with sections 6(4) and 6(5) of the Act, the Chairman of the Commission and the members of the Commission are to be appointed for terms not exceeding five years and three years respectively.
- 2.5 Section 6(7)(a) of the Act permits the Governor to appoint a suitable person (who may be, but is not required to be, a member of the Commission) to be the deputy of the member appointed to chair the Commission.
- 2.6 The operation of Section 6(1)(a) provides that a person can be appointed Chairman of the Commission only if he or she is appointed as a member of the Commission.

3. **DISCUSSION**

3.1 The Commission is presently comprised of these people:

Name	Appointed	Expires
Mr Tilahun Mengesha Afrassa	15/01/04	31/12/06
Ms Marie Stella Alvino	15/01/04	31/12/06
Mr Archie Kwesi Andrews	25/01/06	31/12/07
Ms Maria Barredo	15/01/04	31/12/06
Ms Branka King	25/01/06	31/12/06
Ms Subha Mameledzija	25/01/06	31/12/06
Ms Vehedeh Mansoury	25/01/06	31/12/07
Ms Gala Mustafa	25/01/06	31/12/06
Mr Peter Ppiros (Deputy Chair)	25/01/06	31/12/07
Mr Norman Schueler	25/01/06	31/12/07
Ms Malgorzata (Gosia) Skalban	15/01/04	31/12/06
Mr Theodoro Mauro Spiniello	15/01/04	31/12/06
Mr Hieu Van Le (Chair)	01/01/06	31/12/07
Mr Peter Zdravkovski	25/01/06	31/12/07

3.2 The Government is pledged to strengthening and enhancing ties with multicultural South Australia. In light of this it is timely that the membership of

- the Commission, as the Government's flagship multicultural body, be reviewed to ensure that it is responsive to the needs and expectations of South Australia.
- 3.5 As a result, I am of the opinion that the Commission would benefit from some personnel changes.
- 3.6 Mr Theodoro Mauro Spiniello, Ms Marie Stella Alvino and Ms Subha Mameledzija will not be reappointed after their terms expires on 31 December, 2006.
- 3.7 I intend to progress further appointments in the New Year. Cabinet will, of course, be advised of this in due course.
- 3.8 The *curricula vitae* of the proposed nominees are attached.
- 3.9 Cabinet has noted my intention to reappoint the proposed nominees.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

- 4.1 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council reappoint Ms Maria Barredo as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980, for a term commencing on 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.
- 4.2 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council appoint Ms Malgorzata Skalban as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to Section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980, for a term commencing on 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.
- 4.3 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council reappoint Ms Gala Mustafa as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to Section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission for a period commencing 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.
- 4.4 That Cabinet Sub-Committee recommend that Her Excellency the Governor in Executive Council appoint Ms Branka King as a member of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission pursuant to Section 6 of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission for a term commencing 1 January, 2007, and expiring on 31 December, 2008.

Michael Atkinson

Minister for Multicultural Affairs

December, 2006



Curricula Vitae

20 pages removed

Exempt clause 6(1) – personal affairs